One semester runs for 20 weeks. Each semester is divided in four periods: A, B, C and D. The autumn semester starts at the end of August and continues until mid-January of the following year. The spring semester starts in January and finishes at the beginning of June.

Academic year 2019/2020

Autumn term 2019 (September 2, 2019 – January 19, 2020)

Period A: Monday September 2 - Wednesday October 2
Period B: Thursday October 3 - Friday November 1
Period C: Monday November 4 - Wednesday December 4
Period D: Thursday December 5 - Friday January 17

Spring term 2020 (January 20, 2020 – June 7, 2020)

Period A: Monday January 20 -  Wednesday February 19
Period B: Thursday February 20 - Friday March 20
Period C: Monday March 23 - Friday May 1 (Easter Holiday week 15)
Period D: Monday May 4 - Friday June 5

Academic year 2020/2021

Autumn term 2020 (August 28, 2020 – January 17, 2021)

Period A: Monday August 28 - Friday September 30
Period B: Thursday October 1 - Monday November 2
Period C: Tuesday November 3 - Wednesday December 2
Period D: Thursday December 3 - Friday January 15

Spring term 2021 (January 18, 2021 – June 5, 2021)

Period A: Monday January 18 -  Wednesday February 17
Period B: Thursday February 18 - Monday March 22
Period C: Tuesday March 23 - Friday April 30 (Easter Holiday week 14)
Period D: Monday May 3 - Friday June 4

Source: Semester/Term dates

Nearly all courses run full-time (100% study tempo) during one term or part of one term. At a full-time course students are expected to study about 40 or somewhat more than 40 hours a week (including scheduled and individual studies). The number of hours of compulsory scheduled education in taught courses varies and the total quantity of study hours a week obviously differs a lot depending on the students individual study background, techniques and aim. Studying two full-time courses during the same period of time is not recommend; still sometimes it is doable to study one 100% course and one 50% course.