The Academic year contains two semesters (terms): the Autumn term and the Spring term. One semester runs for 20 weeks. Each semester is divided in four periods: A, B, C and D.

Academic year 2018/2019

Autumn term 2018 (September 3, 2018 – January 20, 2019)
Period A: Monday September 3 - Wednesday October 3
Period B: Thursday October 4 - Friday November 2
Period C: Monday November 5 - Wednesday December 5
Period D: Thursday December 6 - Friday January 18

Spring term 2019 (January 21, 2019 – June 9, 2019)
Period A: Monday January 21 -  Wednesday February 20
Period B: Thursday February 21 - Monday March 25
Period C: Tuesday March 26 - Friday May 3 (Easter Holiday week 16)
Period D: Monday May 6 - Friday June 7

Academic year 2019/2020

Autumn term 2019 (September 2, 2019 – January 19, 2020)
Period A: Monday September 2 - Wednesday October 2
Period B: Thursday October 3 - Friday November 1
Period C: Monday November 4 - Wednesday December 4
Period D: Thursday December 5 - Friday January 17

Spring term 2020 (January 20, 2020 – June 7, 2020)
Period A: Monday January 20 -  Wednesday February 19
Period B: Thursday February 20 - Friday March 20
Period C: Monday March 23 - Friday May 1 (Easter Holiday week 15)
Period D: Monday May 4 - Friday June 5

Source: Semester/Term dates

Nearly all courses run full-time (100 % study tempo) during one term or part of one term. At a full-time course students are expected to study about 40 or somewhat more than 40 hours a week (including scheduled and individual studies). The number of hours of compulsory scheduled education in taught courses varies and the total quantity of study hours a week obviously differs a lot depending on the students individual study background, techniques and aim. Studying two full-time courses during the same period of time is not recommend; still sometimes it is doable to study one 100 % course and one 50 % course.