The degree structure is organized in three levels of higher education – the First Cycle (bachelor, 3 years, 180 HECs), the Second Cycle (master, 2 years, 120 HECs), and the Third Cycle (doctor, 4 years, 240 HECs); each with minimum requirements for entry.

To be accepted to courses in the Second Cycle (SC) you usually have to have a degree from the First Cycle (FC); a bachelor degree or equivalent. SC students are welcome to study FC and SC courses. Only doctorial students can be accepted to courses in the Third Cycle (TC). Sometimes SC and TC courses are synchronized. Most courses also have specific entry requirements.

Degrees awarded at each level are defined in terms of the expected results and abilities of students (“learning outcomes”). Also the objectives of each course are specified describing the student’s expected learning outcomes at the conclusion of the course.

The First Cycle and the Second Cycle replaced the former four under-graduate and master levels: Basic (A level), Intermediate (B level), Advanced (C level) and Specialized (D level). The Specialized (D) level was the master level.